Karnataka polls: Bharatiya Janata Party issues second list of 82 candidates

BJP President Amit Shah, state BJP chief B S Yeddyurappa along other state leaders during Parivartan Yatra, in Chitradurga near Bengaluru. Photo: PTIThe Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) issues second list of candidates for Karnataka Assembly election on Monday. The party faced criticism for giving tickets to allegedly tainted candidates. The list of 82 candidates has at least five who were earlier acquitted in corruption, forgery, cheating and rape cases.The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on April 8 had declared its first list of 72 nominees that included its chief ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa, and senior leaders K S Eshwarappa and Jagadish Shettar.Yeddyurappa had floated his own party, Karnataka Janata Paksha, in the last elections after he was removed as chief minister by the BJP over graft charges. The Lingayat leader, however, merged his party with the BJP in 2014.
Source: Business Standard