Press "Enter" to skip to content

Karnataka polls: No ‘1-family, 1-ticket’? Congress fields Siddaramaiah, son

SiddaramaiahAfter months of speculation and six days of consultation, the All India Congress Committee on Sunday released the complete list of 218 candidates who will be contesting the Karnataka Assembly Election 2018, scheduled on May 12. Chief Minister of Karnataka, Siddaramaiah will contest from Chamundeshwari. Siddaramaiah’s son Yatheendra has also received a ticket — he will be fighting the election from Varuna constituency.State party chief G Parameshwara will be in the fray from the Korategere seat. Veteran Congress Mallikarjun Kharge’s son Priyank Kharge, the state minister for Information Technology, will contest from the Chittapur constituency. The final candidates’ list contains the names of 112 sitting MLAs — only 10 sitting MLAs have not received tickets.The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on April 8 announced its first list of 72 candidates. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah discussed the names of the candidates at the BJP Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting on Sunday. The party is all set to release the second set of candidates’ names in a few days, according to media reports.Karnataka will go to the polls on May 12. The last date for filing the nominations for the 224 constituencies is April 24, while April 27 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature. Will Siddaramaiah be able to maintain his bastion or will Modi magic work again? The results will be known on May 15.Here is all you need to know about the list of candidates for the Karnataka Assembly Election 2018:1) Siddaramaiah not contesting from two seats: Setting all speculations aside, the state chief minister Siddaramaiah is not contesting from two seats.He will be contesting from his traditional bastion of the Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysore. A tough fight is expected from the Opposition BJP in this seat.2) Devraj Patil gets ticket for Siddaramaiah’s second-best seat: Badami, Siddaramaiah’s second-favourite seat from North Karnataka, has been given to Devaraj Patil. The sitting Congress MLA of Badami constituency, B B Chimankatti, did not get a ticket for the Karnataka Assembly Election 2018.
Source: Business Standard