UGC cuts short names of these deemed universities after Supreme Court mandate

University Grants Commission, UGC, deemed universities, names of university changed, Christ University, Jain University, Santosh University, Symbiosis Following the Supreme Court verdict, back in November last year, the UGC had issued a warning 123 deemed-to-be universities. (Photo: IE)

In November last year, the University Grants Commission (UGC) was asked by the Supreme Court of India to stop using the word ‘university’ in the names of deemed universities. After that the government has compiled names of the varsities this week, however, names of the 10 such institutes have weird sounding names. For example, Santosh University’s name in Ghaziabad has been cropped to “Santosh”. And from now on, Dehradun’s Graphic Era University will be called “Graphic Era”. Symbiosis International University from Pune will be known as “Symbiosis International”. Christ University from Bengaluru has been changed to only “Christ”, and Jain University will be known as “Jain”. On Friday, the HRD Ministry These institutions are among 14 deemed-to-be universities that were intimated of their new names by the HRD Ministry on Friday.

Following the Supreme Court verdict, back in November last year, the UGC had issued a warning to 123 deemed-to-be universities. The warning called for strong action if they dropped the word ‘university’ from their names. Even before some of the universities getting the university status had begun to call themselves universities on their own. However, the government was to be at fault in naming 14 of such institutions. The notification issued by the HRD Ministry announced their deemed status referred to them as universities.

In order to rectify their mistakes, the UGC ordered these institutions to go for alternative names which do not have the word ‘university’. After the issuance of the suggestion by the UGC, names of four were accepted. The HRD Ministry on Friday informed the 14 institutions of their new names.

The four deemed universities whose suggested alternative names found favour with the government are: Manav Rachna International University will now be known as Manav Rachna International Institute of Research and Studies. Lingaya’s University will be known as Lingaya’s Vidyapeeth. Jagadguru Sri Shivarathreeswara University in Mysuru will now be known as JSS Academy of Higher Education and Research and Gurukul Kangri Vishwavidyalaya in Haridwar will be known as Gurukul Kangri Vidyapeeth.

Source: Financial Express