UP by-poll: ‘Overconfident’ Yogi says Gorakhpur, Phulpur result unexpected

SP, BSP workers celebrate in Gorakhpur as the SP candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad leads in the counting of votes.UP, Bihar by election results 2018: In a huge blow to the ruling BJP, the Samajwadi Party on Wednesday won Phulpur, which was vacated by UP deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and took winning leads in Gorakhpur (vacated by UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath). With the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) backing its bitter rival Samajwadi Party, the Bharatiya Janata Party appeared to be heading for a shock defeat in both the constituencies in what is seen as a major embarrassment to Adityanath in particular. Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel defeated BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel, won Phulpur Lok Sabha seat by 59,613 votes, which along with Gorakhpur voted on Sunday. Pravin Nishad of the Samajwadi Party was leading by 19,201 votes in Gorakhpur, which Aditynath had won five consecutive times, over the BJP candidate Upendra Dutt Shukla. With just 37 per cent of the votes polled in Phulpur and 42 per cent in Gorakhpur, officials admitted that the BJP was unlikely to reverse the expected result. ALSO READ: Bihar, UP by-poll result LIVE: Samajwadi Party wins Phulpur by 59,613 votes While the Samajwadi Party activists started celebrating what now looks like a sure and morale-boosting victory, the BJP was stunned into silence. We accept the verdict of the people, this result is unexpected, we will review the shortcomings. I congratulate the winning candidates: UP CM Yogi Adityanath. Top 10 developments 1. BJP gets rude shock in Gorakhpur: In Gorakhpur, which Adityanath represented for five straight terms since 1998, BJP candidate Upendra Dutt Shukla lost to the Samajwadi Party candidate. SP’s Praveen Kumar Nishad leads by 22,954 votes with 3,77,146 votes, BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla second with 3,54,192 votes after 25th round of counting. ALSO READ: Mamata congratulates Akhilesh, Mayawati on UP bypolls performance 2. Phulpur brings bad tidings for the BJP Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel won Phulpur Lok Sabha seat by 59,613 votes, BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel second.

Source: Business Standard