Press "Enter" to skip to content

WhatsApp new feature: Battery saving option before Dark Mode update

Keeping the anticipation of the users intact, WhatsApp may soon bring the dark mode feature for its Android app. According to WABetaInfo report, a blog that tracks WhatsApp developments, the Facebook-owned social messaging app is currently working on Battery Saver settings before enabling the Dark Theme. The update came in the Android Beta version 2.19.353. This new update is a step in the right direction in order to release the Dark Mode setting for its users.

According to the blog discoveries, WhatsApp can automatically enable/disable the Dark Theme based on your Android device’s Battery Saver settings. There is also a Set by Battery Saver option that is visible in the current version. Under this setting, the app would sense the phone’s battery saver settings and consequently turn the app darker when your phone’s battery drops below a certain percentage.

However, there is a catch to this update. As observed by the blog, this Set by Battery Saver option is only available to users having Android 9 and lower versions on their phone. The option is not available for Android 10 version users and instead, it would remain as system default option on the phones running on the latest Android OS. This means that if your Android 10-powered phone is working in dark theme, WhatsApp will be run on your phone in the dark mode.

The Dark Mode theme is a much-awaited feature news that has been going around for some time now. However, there is no official release date of this feature’s roll out.

Coming to the Battery Saving Option feature, Whatsapp is currently testing and working around the update before its final and stable version release. It is presently available only on Android Beta version. So, don’t worry of you can’t see the update on your smartphones yet, it is releasing soon.

For the Dark Mode feature, sit tight until further announcement, which may happen soon.

Apart from this, WhatsApp is also nearing towards the roll out of the Delete Message feature, which will automatically delete messages after a particular time period set by the user and make it look like the message never existed.

Source: Livemint